fantasy, retellings, Review Monday, young adult

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review

16096824.jpg

 

My Rating: 4 stars
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Recommendation: If you love Fae, and high intensity fantasy stories, I suggest you read this series if you haven’t already.

 

 

What if everything you believed about someone was wrong?

What is it about:
Goodreads (And Photo) description: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Reaction:
giphy (10)

What did I think: *I have now read the second and working on the third, I was young and naive, pay no mind to my thinking* 
While Feyre got on my nerves in the beginning with her insistence on being right about the Fae being horrible and nasty creatures that wanted to kill her every second. I did see where she was coming from, I’d believe all the folklore too if I was in her position. But once she started warming up to Tamlin and Lucian I was getting more into the story. I would hope so at least because I read 300+ pages in one sitting. I couldn’t put it down. I sobbed, my heart raced and almost threw my Kindle when she was in those trials. I won’t spoil anything. But if you wanted to read something that lead you on a rollercoaster of emotions I suggest reading this.
At first I didn’t understand the infatuation that everyone seems to have with Rhysand but after he was in the story for a few chapters I was like “ohhh, this is why” and I started to like his character. I still think that at the point in time I like Tamlin more than I like Rhysand, but that may change later. Who knows. All I know is that I wish I had a Tamlin of my own because hot damn those scenes were steamy.
For once unlike most of my usually reviews I want to focus on the plot and setting. I had some serious Elven vibes when the High Fae and the Prythian were described. This was a key element to my enjoyment of this book I think. I love how magical and free everything seems in those types of settings. I felt like I was sitting along-side Feyre and Tamlin at those glens, or taking in the sunrise on Solstice night with them. I would have LOVED to swim in the pond though, star-light. I bet that would feel amazing. The plot was close to a Beauty and the Beast retelling as everyone stated, but it was vastly different enough to not be too painfully obvious. I rather enjoyed having the few subtle details line up with the original. I’m rather excited to see where the next two books go, hopefully I can get my hands on them soon.

Did you read this series? Did you love it? Who’s you’re favorite? Let’s Chat!

1 thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review”

Leave a Reply

