fantasy, retellings, Review Monday, young adult

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas Review

17927395.jpg

 

 

My Rating: 4 stars
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: May 3rd, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Recommendation: If you love Fae, and high intensity fantasy stories, I suggest you read this series if you haven’t already.

 

 

 

Would you be a traitor if you left the one you loved for someone else?

What is it about?
Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
(From Goodreads photo as well)

Reaction:
giphy (34)

What did I think?
So I was ENITRELY wrong about Tamlin. I have zero interest in him what so ever. Rhysand on the other hand, holy moly. So to actually discuss my thoughts on this book rather than how much I detest Tamlin, I will start off with the storyline. I was on a rollercoaster of emotions throughout this book. All 600+ pages of it. There were plot twists after plot twists and my heart was racing and I couldn’t put the book down. I feel like the first one was actually lacking in content compared to this one, like it was missing the extra suspense and action that this one had. I also feel like I connected on an entirely different level with Feyre. I have actually been in a controlling relationship where I felt like I was trapped and locked up, so when Rhysand came to rescue her and let her decide for herself I was so emotional it was even remotely funny. I did however get annoyed with her a little later in the book because she was not really looking at the bigger picture of things but she figured it out and everything was good.
The characters have such fantastic character arcs in this series. Feyre goes from being a poor human who has to hunt in order to help her family survive to one of the most powerful Fae. Like where can I sign up for that?
Rhysand, oh my dear dear Rhysand. I now know why everyone loves you. He protects his family at all costs, protects what can be saved from the cruelness of the world. He pretends to be someone he isn’t in order to make everyone believe he is some cold hearted asshole. But he’s not, not even in the slightest. I need to find me a Rhysand.
Cassian and Azriel are badass and I would want them protecting me. Cassian is such a goofball with a heart of gold and a Warriors soul. I love it!

Do you hate Tamlin? Love Rhysand? Like Cassian’s sass, hate it? Let’s Chat!

9 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas Review”

Leave a Reply

