Bookish Thursday

Required School Reading (The Only Ones I Read)

Hello lovelies! Today for Bookish Thursday I want to discuss all those required reading that we all endured in high school. I usually didn’t complete reading some of them because I don’t like HAVING to read a book. But there were a few that I actually wholeheartedly enjoyed.

giphy (36)

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

When my Freshman English teacher gave us this book, I internally groaned. The book was torn and obviously used in many previous other classes. BUT oh man was I wrong about this book. I actually ended up reading ahead and couldn’t exactly participate in the class discussions in fear of telling someone who hadn’t gotten to the pig head yet that I felt horrible for Simon. I ADORED this book. It was one of the most intriguing concept I had read up to that point and I couldn’t get enough of it.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 

This is one of those short books that you initially are like “oh okay I can power through this” but I ended up loving it. I loved his writing style and how connected you felt with Nick and felt the heart break with Gatsby. I also laughed every time Gatsby called Nick old sport. That is my favorite nick name ever haha.

Princess Bride by William Goldman 

I had to read this one for my Senior English class that focused on the Hero’s Journey and anything fantasy or science fiction. I can quote the movie in its entirety which drives people crazy when they watch with me. But I hadn’t picked up the book to read up till that point. I loved being able to see what was happening while I was reading, understanding what the ROUS’s were, seeing how different the torture room was, crying when Wesley was in there. I loved how different the book was to the movies, how similar they also were to each other. I adored the book.

Have you read any of these? What required reading did you enjoy? Let’s Chat!

1 thought on “Required School Reading (The Only Ones I Read)”

  1. We didn’t have to read any of these at school but I did enjoy Lord of the Flies for the experience if not for the story. My favourite book to read at school was Tomorrow When the War Began. Love that series, I’d already read them before they assigned it so I was happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

